The Smashing Pumpkins officially announced the reissue of The Aeroplane Flies High

SmashingP_AERO_re1 small
The Aeroplane Flies High Deluxe Edition

The Smashing Pumpkins are ready to roll out the highly anticipated reissue of The Aeroplane Flies High. The release is just as big as last year’s massive Mellon Collie deluxe edition. TAFH deluxe reissue (available in both physical & digital formats) will have over 50 new audio tracks featuring unreleased demos, alternative versions and live recordings, in addition to the original 33 tracks (which have been re-mastered by Bob Ludwig) and a Live concert DVD. There will also be an LP version, and a standard digital version containing the original 33 tracks.

The original 5 audio discs in the deluxe edition will have an expanded track listing with demos, instrumentals and live tracks from the Double Door shows (recorded in Feb 1995 before the band went into the studio to record Mellon Collie) & a live version of Silverfuck from July 10th, 1996.

The following track titles were completely unknown to the SPFC songlist and it is unclear if any of them will contain lyrics: movers and shakirs, blaster caster, little ditty, verily I say, ravi revi roo, on the loose, slurry, have love will travel (8trk demo).

Other tracks, such as star song (dat mix/vocal rough), we’ve known of but haven’t heard, outside of a clip in Pastichio Medley.

A new sixth disc will be included which will be filled with a variety of live tracks from the 1996 Mellon Collie tour. The DVD will include concert footage from the July 4th, 1997 show in Belfort, France.

The new box set will be limited edition and will contain a 46-page book with liner notes written by David Wild, plus extensive track-by-track notes on the original 33 tracks, written by Billy Corgan.

The packaging continues the box-package style that Gish, Siamese Dream and Pisces Iscariot used and each disc is housed in a paper sleeve. The press release indicates the set includes embossed foil wrap & twinkle stock for jackets.

Billy Corgan writes in the 46-page book: “What I like about The Aeroplane Flies High is that it’s almost the existential backwater of the Mellon Collie album.  Listening to the music gathered here is a little bit like seeing what goes on behind the walls of Disneyland.  I’ve always been fascinated with places that are very well constructed, and finding out what’s really going on just over the fence.  You look over that gate and notice that things on the other side are not well painted–or maybe you spot that guy dressed as some character sneaking a smoke on his break.  At least for me, the behind the scenes feel heard on The Aeroplane Flies High represents something revealing not found on the main album. In retrospect, it’s a nice document of how we arrived at the apex of Mellon Collie–and also what standing on that apex did to us personally.”

The tracklisting for the deluxe edition and LP version are as follows:

CD1: Bullet With Butterfly Wings

1. Bullet with Butterfly Wings
2. …Said Sadly
3. You’re All I’ve Got Tonight
4. Clones (We’re All)
5. A Night Like This
6. Destination Unknown
7. Dreaming
Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
8. Movers and Shakirs
9. Germans in Leather Pants
10. Millieu
11. Jackboot
12. A/Ab/E/B/F#
13. Rings
14. Ugly
15. Blaster Caster
16. Little Ditty
17. Verily I Say
18. New Waver
19. The Groover
20. Ravi Revi Roo
21. On The Loose
22. Slurry
tracks 8 – 22 Recorded at Gravity Studios, Chicago, IL, March 15, 1994 – March 16, 1994

CD2: 1979

1. 1979
2. Ugly
3. Believe
4. Cherry
5. The Boy
6. Set the Ray to Jerry
Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
7. Tonight, Tonight (acoustic version/instrumental rough)
8. Jupiter’s Lament (billy solo)
9. Zero (8trk demo)
10. Marquis in Spades (8trk demo)
11. Have Love Will Travel (8trk demo)
12. Infinite Sadness (siamese outtake)
13. 1979 (acoustic)
14. Aeroplane Flies High (acoustic snippet)
15. Take me Down (instrumental)
16. Star Song (dat mix/vocal rough)

CD3: Zero

1. Zero
2. God
3. Mouths of Babes
4. Tribute to Johnny
5. Marquis in Spades
6. Pennies
7. Pastichio Medley
LP ONLY: 7. Pastichio Medley (with fades)
Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
8. By Starlight
9. Set The Ray to Jerry
10. Mouths of Babes
11. Cupid de Locke
12. Galapagos
13. To Forgive
14. Lily (my one & only)
15. Here is no Why
Tracks 8 – 15 Recorded Live at the Double Door, Chicago, IL, February, 27 1995

CD4: Tonight, Tonight

1. Tonight, Tonight
2. Meladori Magpie
3. Rotten Apples
4. Medellia of the Gray Skies
5. Jupiter’s Lament
6. Blank
7. Tonite Reprise
Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
8. Stumbleine
9. Ugly
10. Meladori Magpie
11. God
12. Love
13. Pissant
14. Hello Kitty Kat
15. Special Winner’s Song
16. I Just Wanna Make Love To You
Tracks 8 – 16 Recorded Live at the Double Door, Chicago, IL, February, 21, 27, 28, 1995

CD5: Thirty-Three

1. Thrity-Three
2. The Last Song
3. The Aeroplane Flies High
4. Transformer
5. The Bells
6. My Blue Heaven
Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:
7. Silverfuck (live 7/10/96)

Deluxe Edition Live CD:
CD6: Live Inside the Dark Globe

1. Where Boys Fear To Tread
Cleveland, Ohio 7.3.96
2. Zero
San Francisco, California 2.7.96
3. Fuck You / An Ode To No One
Stockholm, Sweden 4.10.96
4. X.Y.U.
Los Angeles, California 2.3.96
5. To Forgive
Washington, D.C. 1.6.96
6. Thirty-Three
New York City, New York 1.11.96
7. Tonight, Tonight
New York City, New York 1.11.96
8. Lily (My One And Only)
Washington, D.C. 1.5.96
9. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans
Cleveland, Ohio 7.3.96
10. Jellybelly
Gent, Belgium 4.6.96
11. Bullet With Butterfly Wings
Los Angeles, California 2.3.96
12. By Starlight
Buffalo, New York 7.2.96
13. Bodies
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 7.5.96
14. Silverfuck
Copenhagen, Denmark 4.9.96

Deluxe Edition Concert DVD:
Malsaucy Lake, Belfort, France, July 4, 1997

1. Glimpses
2. Where Boys Fear To Tread
3. Eye
4. Tonight, Tonight
5. Transformer
6. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby
7. The End Is The Beginning Is The End
8. By Starlight
9. Bullet With Butterfly Wings
10. Muzzle
11. 1979
12. X.Y.U.
13. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans
14. The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)
Read the press release on the Smashing Pumpkins website.